Co-Author a Document

When you upload a document for co-authoring, you click on the "Allow other members to modify this entry" checkbox. This allows any user who can view the document to modify it.

When another user wants to edit the file, he or she can use the default editing applet, or edit the file locally. The editing applet automatically prevents more than one user from editing the file at the same time. If you edit locally, you need to reserve and release the document in order to "lock" it in this way. For more information about the editing applet, click on the Modify an attachment link below. For information about editing a file locally, click on Modify an attachment locally.

If you want to limit the number of users who can see the document as it is revised, consider placing the document in a forum or a workspace with limited access, or use the document-review workflow process for a finer level of access control.

 How do you...
 More information about...